Presbyterian Church changes affiliation in Pittsburgh

January 26, 2008

From Planet Out news…

Members of the largest church in the Pittsburgh Presbyterian district have voted to leave the Presbyterian Church (USA) for a more biblically conservative denomination.

-snip-

More than two dozen of the nearly 11,000 congregations in the Presbyterian Church (USA) have voted to leave the national church since the denomination’s national assembly in 2006.

Delegates at the gathering granted new leeway in some cases to sidestep a church requirement that clergy and lay officers limit sex to man-woman marriage.

Click here for the rest.

It always amazes me that one of the Anglican arguments against inclusion has been that “if this were revelation that other denominations would be facing the same issues and struggles.”

Hmmm.  Funny how we don’t hear that one much anymore.

j

4 Responses to “Presbyterian Church changes affiliation in Pittsburgh”

  1. WmPaul Says:

    You write:”It always amazes me that one of the Anglican arguments against inclusion has been that “if this were revelation that other denominations would be facing the same issues and struggles.”

    Verify, for me, one place where that is in writing as an Anglican argument or an argument by an Anglican? The dominant strain of argument on the conservative side that I know in Anglicanism says, rather, ALL mainline denominations are struggling with this issue because (a) it is a difficult pastoral issue and (b) because they don’t have enough critical distance from the prevailing culture.

  2. Jeff Says:

    Click here for one.

    See #21 in Dr. Leander Harding’s address to Susan Russell+, which I responded to on her behalf.

    j

  3. Michael Says:

    Jeff,
    I had added a link to your site on my blog last summer, but I apparently just linked to a specific post. So all this time when I have checked on you, I thought you hadn’t done anything since June.I am glad I have stumbled onto you again, and I have corrected the link at Sleeps with Dragons.
    Michael

  4. Jeff Says:

    Thanks, Michael. I’ve added you to my blogroll as well.

    j


Leave a Reply

