Diction in Anglican Hymns…

December 12, 2007

My choral director used this video to make a point about the importance of diction in singing…

I think I like the alternative better myself…

Here are the actual words – but don’t look until you’ve watched it without them at least once and tried to make sense of it!

1. Blessed city, heavenly Salem,
vision dear of peace and love,
who of living stones art builded
in the height of heaven above,
and, with angel hosts encircled,
as a bride dost earthward move;

2. from celestial realms descending,
bridal glory round thee shed,
meet for him whose love espoused thee,
to thy Lord shalt thou be led;
all thy streets and all thy bulwarks
of pure gold are fashioned.

j

4 Responses to “Diction in Anglican Hymns…”


  1. Hilarious. I’ve posted it here:

    http://choralnet.org/


  2. You totally brightened my day with that. I just got home from choir rehearsal and I can’t wait to send this to my choir. Brilliant! Hope you are doing well 🙂

  3. Kathy Jelfs Says:

    I think it would have been fairer to have given the version of the words that they are supposedly singing. In the second verse they replace the thous and thys with shes and hers; if you close your eyes when you listen you can hear most of the words. No I wasn’t in the congregation! I’m just speaking up in the cause of fairness. It is nonetheless entertaining.

  4. paul of brooklyn Says:

    Once again a misuse of the word diction (meaning choice of words) as opposed to enunciation (clarity of speech)


Leave a Reply

