From Malcom Boyd’s new Website

November 9, 2006

Superchrist in a Superstate 

“The whole problem began when I was a kid in school. My education got all screwed up. I was taught a pack of lies.

I was taught that patriotism meant “my country, right or wrong.” (But how, it was suggested, could it ever be wrong?)

I was taught war was justified if my country fought it.

I was taught that black people were a bit lesser than human and called “niggers.” (If they don’t like this country, why don’t they go back to where they came from?)

I was taught that Native Americans had killed kind and courageous (white) troops fighting for “our country,” and deserved to be punished and isolated.

I was taught Latinos were meant to do manual labor and be treated as children. (Are they too lazy to learn English?)

I was taught modern civilization was essentially good, incapable of committing horrors such as those of the past described in history books.

I was taught homosexuals (the word wasn’t really supposed to be spoken in polite society) were social lepers, degenerates, intrinsically evil, damned by God.

My actual education commenced long after I left school—and unlearned a lot of things. And, learned new ones.

Click here to read the rest.

3 Responses to “From Malcom Boyd’s new Website”

  1. susan Says:

    Great post, Jeff. Thanks!

  2. in2l Says:

    I appreciate your point of view. I think you are correct, we are in danger of losing the key to our country’s unique blessing, the freedom of religion and the freedom from rule by a religious elite.

  3. Jeff Says:

    Athena –

    I received your comment; however I’m going to have to think about whether to release it for posting or not.

    I find it offensive and problematic, reinforcing the ideology which promotes racism in this country.

    You are certainly entitled to your point of view, however, and I find myself once again in the situation of deciding whether to allow my site to be a point from which all opinions may be freely shared or one in which those which I find opinions which may be hurtful to others should be filtered.

    I may just end up posting your comment back to your “special” section from before; will decide and act on it later.

    j


Leave a Reply

