First Day of School

August 15, 2006

I can’t believe it.  It seems like only yesterday that I was in California and was thinking about how far away the first day of school for my kids in Texas was.

But here we are, and this morning my kids started at their new schools.

My daughter’s reaction was really interesting– she usually embraces new things wholeheartedly.  But the last few days, she has been biting her nails nervously.  Yesterday, she started complaining of a stomachache.  This morning, she said she was too sick to go to school.  Finally, I got her to eat a little, and then when I was discussing it on the phone with my mom, she suddenly remember that she was supposed to be sick, I guess, because she suddenly grabbed her stomach, said “My tummy!” in her most pathetic voice, and ran out of the room.

Change is so hard.  I finally coaxed her into going to her new school by talking about all of the art projects they were going to do today.  She went, begrudgingly, and I suppose she is there having a wonderful time… Until tomorrow when it is time to go.  It’ll take a week or two, and then she will love it and everything will be back to normal.

And here we are, in the middle of change in the church.  A change that started 2000 years ago.  A change that started with a man who said the church was about love.  The church has tried and tried, but just can’t keep up.  I don’t think anyone would accuse the church of being an innovative institution.  I think probably most people, though, would say Jesus was pretty innovative.  I find that really interesting.

So our stomachs ache, and we don’t want to go, and we complain, and we moan, and we ache, and we call meetings of the bishops, and we write to the Archbishop and tell him we don’t like it.

In the end, we go to school.  It may take us years to get in the school building, or decades even.  But eventually we’ll get there.  Its not a question of “if”, it is a question of “when.”  Change is inevitable.  It just happens.  The wonderful thing about the Spirit is that she doesn’t make us change- we have a choice in the process.  We can move at our own pace– running towards that school building at full speed, bursting with excitement for the first day of school.  Or, we can meander slowly, dreading every step of the way.

The choice is ours.  As for me?  I always liked the first day of school.  As a matter of fact, I’ve got a first day of school coming up next week, and I can’t wait.

j

2 Responses to “First Day of School”


  1. As a single father also, let me give you this advice..take pictures! 😉

  2. Jeff Says:

    I did, thanks!

    Except for Kacy, who wouldn’t stand for it because she was so nervous. I’ll get one next week and pretend it was the first day when she’s more able to smile…

    j


Leave a Reply

