Convergence of Events

May 15, 2006

Original Post Date:  5/15/2006

I'm always amazed at how God works in our lives when one looks and is open to the possibilities.

When I was in pre-discernment classes at my church (I'm fortunate enough to be in a large enough parish to actually have such things), we used a wonderful book by Ben Cambell Johnson called Hearing God's Call: Ways of Discernment for Laity and Clergy.  One of the many signs of a call, Johnson says, is a convergence of events.

The last week has had its share of convergence for me as I prepare for my move to Austin and seminary.  My career is winding down as I prepare to quit and I have been re-org'd to another boss, successfully negotiating to keep my department intact so that my employees do not get laid off in the transition; my diocese has agreed to provide the last piece of admission paperwork I need for seminary; I have received a reasonable proposal from my ex-partner on custody arrangements for our children after I move with them to Austin and he remains behind in California after months of discussion; I have received an offer on my home; and this:

Several years ago, I was hung up on something.  It doesn't matter what, but the output was several experiences with God where I knew I needed to stay living in LA until I was called for a higher purpose.  One of those experiences was a song coming on the radio- Bette Midler's The Rose

Just remember in the winter, far beneath the bitter snows
lies the seed
that with the sun's love
in the spring
becomes the rose

I thought it was a sure sign that this thing I was hung up on was going to happen.

That song came on again on Saturday.  The kids and I were getting out of the car on an errand, but I knew I had to listen to that song again- that all those years ago I had misread my sign.  I relistened, and realized what the intended meaning was.

Just remember in the winter, far beneath the bitter snows
lies the seed
that with the sun's love
in the spring
becomes the rose

Now I realize that I am the seed.  The sun/son is Jesus.  Now is the spring.  I am becoming the rose.

I don't say that in a self-promotional way.  I say it because the rose is beautiful.  I say it because every single thing that God created on this earth is beautiful.  Including me.  Including you.  In order to realize our full potential, we need nourishment, food, water– love.  We can then realize the potential God created us for in order to become the creatures of love and service that God intended us to be.

Events are converging for me.  I hope they converge for you too.  You make a beautiful rose.

Especially my mom, who is the most beautiful rose of all!  Happy Mother's Day, mom!

The Rose

Some say love it is a river
that drowns the tender reed
Some say love it is a razor
that leaves your soul to blead

Some say love it is a hunger
an endless aching need
I say love it is a flower
and you it's only seed

It's the heart afraid of breaking
that never learns to dance
It's the dream afraid of waking, that never takes the chance
It's the one who won't be taken
who cannot seem to give
and the soul afraid of dyingthat never learns to live

When the night has been too lonely
and the road has been too long
and you think that love is only
for the lucky and the strong
Just remember in the winter, far beneath the bitter snows
lies the seed
that with the sun's love
in the spring
becomes the rose

2 Responses to “Convergence of Events”

  1. Collie Jackson Says:

    I have been reading your blog and am so touched by your messages. This one brought tears to my eyes.
    I love you!!!

  2. Jeff Says:

    Thanks, Aunt Collie!

    I love you too!


Leave a Reply

