Thanks for your patience…

May 5, 2006

Original Post Date:  5/5/2006

I was driving to work this morning and a truck pulled in front of me.  In very big, bold letters on the back it said, "THANKS FOR YOUR PATIENCE."

I'm not really sure why someone would put that on the back of their semi, unless they planned on driving poorly.  Or had a complex about their driving.  Or something.

But I appreciated it.  It made me think about how much we all are in a hurry to get wherever it is that we are going.  Also how much we want everyone else to either hurry up and get there with us if they are going the same direction, or to get out of the way if they aren't.

How valuable it is, then to have patience when we're on the road of life.  To slow down and appreciate those who might not be able to go the same speed or direction as we are.  I often try to stay humble because there is really no way to know whether it is me slowing down for them or them slowing down for me.  Either way, I'm glad to have the company.  To be in community as we all journey forward, knowing that we are not alone as we find our path forward on this great highway of life is a wonderful thing.

Leave a Reply

